Full story

10-23-2009


The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax – Its a Hoax! :-)

Follow that rule and you won’t get caught out!

Comments

7 comments so far.

On Oct 23 2009 @ 21:17, dawn2391 said: |

Did you apply or interview for the job? If not, then it probably is a scam. Nobody hires you without an interview unless you applied through a temporary service. Could they have had the wrong phone number maybe?
References :

On Oct 23 2009 @ 21:32, Ghostgirl1991 said: |

don’t you mean WesternGeco Ltd? My mum works there so its a real company
References :

On Oct 23 2009 @ 21:58, nealo d said: |

This question pops up now and again on here- it’s just another phishing scam, I’m afraid. Don’t give them any personal information.

As ghostgirl says, Western Geco is a real company- but it is not they who have contacted you. (The yahoo.com email adress rather than the company name.com is a giveaway.)
References :

On Oct 23 2009 @ 22:28, claimbankchargesback said: |

The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax – Its a Hoax! :-)

Follow that rule and you won’t get caught out!
References :

On Oct 23 2009 @ 22:42, Rebecca said: |

well did you apply to them for a job?
if not then it’s likely to be some sort of scam – like someone said if you need to ask then it probably is!
why not find a number for the company from 192.com/yell.com etc and speak to someone there about it just to set your mind at rest.
References :

On Oct 23 2009 @ 23:09, choski said: |

I have had a quick look on the internet an found some interesting reading. From what I can find it does look like a scam. They say that they are offering you employment but to process your "documents" and legal immigration paperwork etc then they will require a fee of something like £900. It also seems that alot of the email address used are fakes. Have a look at some of the comments on the website links below. Alternatively type "Western Geco Ltd" into google and you will see for yourself. Good luck but I would be very cautious.
References :
http://www.expatengineer.net/blog.nsf/dx/pan-europe-immigrant-konsult.htm?opendocument&comments#anc1

http://forum.scambaits.com/showthread.php?p=26594

On Oct 23 2009 @ 23:29, Steve B said: |

Easy :-
1) Did you apply for a Job with them ?
No = it’s a scam
2) Could they have your contact details from a legitimate source (i.e. did you give them out to an Agency etc ?)
No = it’s a scam
3) Is the ‘Reply to’ address @ the Company ?
(ie. "name@WesternGeco.co.uk (or @WesternGeco.com) ?
No = it’s a scam ..
4) Did they ask for your CV ?
No = it’s a scam
5) Have you attended an INTERVIEW with them ?
No = it’s a scam

No sane Company offers Jobs to random people based on their email address – if they never even saw your CV and you never went for interview it’s an obvious SCAM.

Sorry
References :

Post your comments

Fill up the fields below. Email is required but won't be revealed to anyone. Some (simple) html is allowed. If you want to cite another comment use the "Quote" link located beside each author. Finally be nice or at least keep it polite. Thanks for posting.

You must be logged in to post a comment.